About our Institution

Dr. Ashutosh Das Memorial Primary Teachers’ Training Institute was established in the year 2003 on a piece of land and a building owned by Dr. Ashutosh Das Trust Board, a private Trust , as a token of request and to commemorate the relentless contribution of Dr. Ashutosh Das in freedom fight and upliftment of rural Bengal, specially Haripal , in pre-independence era. Till his demise in the year 1941 Dr. Ashutosh Das devoted his life to illuminate the life of people in their socio-economic structure and he relentlessly worked in the field of education , health , culture and thereby to generate awareness to men and women in general. As Dr. Ashutosh Das was one of the luminaries amongst freedom fighters and social workers in the district of Hooghly, he was very much adorned by the public in general and he was honored with the title ‘Pally Bandhu’ (Friend of Rural People).

 In the year 2003, the Government of West Bengal decided to accord affiliation to some private Primary Teachers’ Training Institute. Some residence of Haripal , interested in education and cultural activities , thought of establishing a P.T.T.I at the barren land and building , constructed on the piece of land. The land and building was a property of the Trust Board and it was known to the local people as ‘Kalyan Sangha’. A committee was formed for establishing the P.T.T.I. ‘UNNAYANI HOOGHLY’ an N.G.O came forward to establish such an institute. Sri Sailendranath chattopadhyay, as secretary and juristic person of Dr. Ashutosh Das Trust Board with the and assistance of the then committee members of the Trust Board , namely 1. Sri Sambhunath Saha and 2. Sri Gobindachandra Das, agreed to lease out the piece of land measuring 0.41 acre and the two-storied building constructed upon it to UNNAYANI HOOGHLY for a period of 99 years with the sole intention to establish a P.T.T.I in memory of Dr. Ashutosh Das on it.

The Proposal for establishing Dr. Ashutosh Das Memorial Primary Teachers’ Training Institute was approved by the West Bengal Board of Primary Education in the year 2003 and the institute was inaugurated by prof. Bhabesh Moitra, President, west Bengal board of primary education, on 19th.July,2003. The inaugural ceremony was graced by dignitaries like Sri Iva Dey, M.I.C (School Education),Govt. of W.B, Sri Swapan Sarkar, Secretary, W.B.B.P.E, Sri Dulal Bhaumik, Chairman H.D.P.S.C etc. The inaugural function was chaired by Sri Rupchand Pal , President of the G.B.

The first Governing Body of the Institute consisted of the following members –
1. Sri Rupchand Pal, M.P                      (President)
2. Sri Sailendranath Chattopadhyay    (Vice President)
3. Prof. Mahadeb Dey                  Member
4. Sri Gurupada Kabiraj                       Member
5. Sri Biswanath Adhikary             Member
6. Sri Dipak Singharoy                Member
7. Sri Gobinda Das                    Member
8. Sm. Manju Bhaumik                  Member
9. Sri Dulal Bhaumik, Chairman, Hooghly DPSC(Ex-office Member)
10. Abdus Samad D.I of Schools (PE) (Ex-office Member)

The Institution , however ceased to function in the year 2006 because of non-availability of recognition of N.C.T.E. The institute obtained recognition of N.C.T.E and affiliation of W.B.B.P.E in the year 2009 for  conduction 2 year D.EL.ED course and since then it is running as a leading Teachers’ Training Institution for Primary Teachers.